How I got acquainted with Metal

When I was a kid, I used to listen to Backstreet Boys, Boyzone, n-sync, Take That, Westlife, and any other pop band that ever exited back in the 90s. [Trust me, there were many]

When I grew a little older, my brother made us see a video tape, which had songs by MJ and soon the boy bands were history. [Thank heavens]

Then came a day when I was listening to livewire at 106.1 FM and ‘Smells like Teen Spirit’ blasted my ears. It was one of those moments when you really like a song but are unable to collect the name of the artist. I did not have an internet connection at home, so all I could do was wait for a rerun of it on FM.

Collage- ToneGauge
Past fav bands Collage- ToneGauge

Then came the era of Bryan Adams, Bon Jovi, Creed, Staind, Def Leppard, Guns ‘n Roses, Aerosmith, AC/DC, Nirvana, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, Audioslave . I was happy with the music I listened to…but was I happy enough?

Come 2007, my doubt was proven right. I started off with my guitar classes and had a list of metal bands from Finland, I wished to explore.

So, I showed the list to my guitar Sir, waiting for his feedback. He is a great guitarist, and a hardcore Metalhead. He pointed out to Kalmah and said “don’t listen to that band”. In my mind I thought- Challenge Accepted 😉

So I listened to Kalmah on Youtube. That was my moment of eureka. And then, there was no looking back.

Next post: introduction and current happenings in my favourite bands.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Atreyu Crimmins says:

    Off to listen to Kalmah…

    1. soumyashr says:

      Hope you’ll like it 🙂

      1. Atreyu Crimmins says:

        I did darling! Try Ensiferum, Wintersun and Finntroll, though you probably already know them.

      2. soumyashr says:

        Can’t deny that I have heard them all 😛
        If you like Ensiferum, you will also like Norther, by the same guy – Petri! 🙂

  2. aniketmore says:

    Alas! I’ve found a metal head here…
    Infernal hails \m/

Leave a Reply

